T: +353 (0)66 9768205   |   E: office@dooks.com   |  Visitors Tee Time Booking   |   Members Tee Time Booking

Dooks Golf Club History

Dooks Golf Club

“Dooks is maybe the loveliest little golf club in the world.  Certainly I have never been more totally surrounded by superb scenery than at Dooks”   David Davies of the Guardian.

DOOKS GOLF CLUB, founded in 1889 is one of the 10 oldest golf clubs in Ireland and celebrated its 125th anniversary in 2014.

Dooks is often described as one of the true gems of Irish Golf.  It is a true sea-side links situated in a panoramic setting in a corner of Dingle Bay, Co. Kerry.  The Atlantic Ocean can be seen from practically every hole and Ireland’s highest mountain range, the McGillycuddy Reeks, overlooks every shot.

HISTORY

Dooks was laid out as a nine hole golf course in 1889 by members of the Royal Horse Artillery who were billeted at Wynn’s Folly, Glenbeigh. At that time military units came from all over Ireland for artillery practice in Rossbeigh. These included Scottish officers who had earlier established golf courses near the Curragh Military Base in Kildare and at the PhoenixPark in Dublin.

In 1895, the Great Southern Hotel, CaraghLake, took over Dooks and engaged Golf Architect, Anthony Brown, to bring the club to a higher standard. In 1897, the Farranfore to Valentia Harbour Rail Line, widely regarded as one of the most spectacular rail lines in the world, established a rail stop at Dooks to accommodate the increasing number of visiting golfers.

In 1900, an additional nine holes were added making Dooks the first 18 hole golf course in Kerry, unfortunately, the extra nine holes were soon abandoned due to the costs involved.

Dooks was affiliated to the GUI in 1903 and to the ILGU in 1913.

In 1963, the clubs’ 75 year land lease expired and they were given notice to quit by the land owners, the Beresford McGregor Estate. The members ran an intensive “Save Dooks Campaign” which included a press conference and a televised interview at Dooks which was broadcast nationally.

In 1965, the land owners agreed to sell the land to the members for £7,000. This may not seem a lot right now but in 1965 it was seven times the clubs annual income. Bord Fáilte assisted the club with a generous grant of £3,500 and the balance was raised from the members through a bond issue.

Having obtained ownership of the land, the members then set about adding nine new holes to bring the course up to championship level. What followed was an extraordinary feat of human voluntary achievement, when the members, under their own steam and on a shoe string budget, designed and physically built the extra nine holes. The job was completed in 1970 at a cost of £3,500 and the new 18 hole course was officially opened by Mr. Gerry Owens, President of the Golfing Union of Ireland.

The club continued to grow in membership and celebrated its centenary year in 1989.

In 2002, the Club sought a meeting with renowned golf course architect, Martin Hawtree, who specialised in the design of links golf courses and had recently completed work for Irish courses such as Royal Dublin and Lahinch as well as numerous other top rated courses worldwide.   Mr. Hawtree subsequently produced impressive plans for a complete overhaul and revamping of Dooks. After a great deal of discussion and fine tuning these plans were accepted by the club. Work commenced in 2003 and was completed in 2006 at a cost of almost €2.5m. The new Hawtree design has put Dooks to the forefront of Links Golf worldwide as a unique and genuine test of golf.

Adjacent to Dooks is an area known as The Commonage.  It is 80 acres of natural dune lands of spectacular natural beauty.  This area has recently been purchased by the club and it provides a mouthwatering opportunity for the future potential development of spectacular new links golf holes. Dooks is never content to rest on its laurels, like the pioneers of 1889, and living up to its club motto “Per Ardua, Ad Astra”, it is relentless in its pursuit of links golf excellence.

Neither is Dooks content to rely solely on its reputation for excellent golf in a magical setting. It works hard to ensure that friendliness, hospitality and a unique club atmosphere are standard fares for everybody. A vibrant club, fully owned by its members, it always strives to be defined by the appellation “Friendly Dooks’ which has been used by others for many years to describe it.

During 2014 the club celebrated its 125th Year with many social and golfing events over the 12 months! Dooks opens itself up to the golfing world and extends an invitation to everybody with an interest in golf and golfing history to come and enjoy the Dooks experience. In 2015, Dooks won The Irish Mixed Foursomes title along with hosting the National Finals.

Visitors are always welcome in Dooks. Make sure to Like our Facebook Page and give us a Follow on Twitter to keep up to date with events, new and special offers from Dooks! For further information on Dooks, please Maurice O’Meara (General Manager) by email on office@dooks.com or by phone on +353-66-9768205.